To Outline or Not?

Most writers, and most books and professors of writing, will tell you to outline everything,  that it will keep you on track.  I used to do that and found that I either digressed from my outline or it bogged me down.

Now, I just let my story and especially my characters take me where they will.  As Ray Bradbury said, that method was half adventure and half terror.

He didn’t outline (as far as I know) and neither do I.  It’s more interesting to let things work out as they will, for most of the time.  I do plan things and think about everything.  But I don’t outline anymore.

If others think that’s foolish, well maybe it is.  But it’s what works for me.

2 thoughts on “To Outline or Not?

Leave a Reply

